We’ve arrived!

We have arrived. Literally and figuratively. This past weekend we made the {white-knuckled driving} trek from Redmond to our planned spot in Bend. There has been a lot of excitement coupled with a bit of nervousness  in anticipation of this day. To take a trailer that had not moved since we strategically added roughly 10,000 pounds down the highway, exposed to all the crazies we call drivers, and not exactly built to be aerodynamic is kind of a silly thing. What were we thinking? After we mapped our route, Cory and I drove the route oh, maybe thirty times, making sure we saw every obstacle, low hanging branches, too tight of turns, etc. and adjusted accordingly. Finally we were ready for Saturday morning to arrive. Cory seriously impressed me with his ‘giant-awkward-heavy trailer ‘hauling skills. He safely transported our lug of a home like it was child’s play (Scott  took over with his trailer reversing skills at the landing site of course).

image

Backing the trailer into our spot, what a relief to see it safe and sound in its ‘home’image

image

image

Although we still have a few things here and there to finish up on the house, it is basically complete. Below are a few updated photos of the house now that we have been living in it for a few weeks.

image

image

 

image

image

 

 

Washer/Dryer combo machine under the  counter. Laundry bin in corner. Sink and partial cameo by our composting toilet. The shower is to the right around the corner, not pictured.

image

Below are two photos from a few weeks back (different living room layout) but  I think it gives you a better idea of the space from one end to the other.

image

image

image

We are so happy to be settling into a more permanent place. We basically won the lottery with our spot, close to work, downtown and the river… just in time for summer!

 

 

26 thoughts on “We’ve arrived!

  1. Congratulations! It’s beautiful! I love the design touches you made and the decorating! Would love to see it next time I’m in Bend!

    Like

  2. Oh Hannah!!! It’s so beautiful!!! You have the Elephent/Eye chart poster! I can’t wait to see this when I next find my way to Central Oregon. That was so smart to drive the road ahead of time and see what was out there.

    Like

  3. Congrats! How did you go about finding your land for you tiny home? Renting, buying, etc? Thanks so much! Enjoy your new location.

    Like

  4. I adore your design, especially the free standing lounge furniture. It really makes it feel like a house to my mind.
    What a lovely home you’ve built.

    We’ll be doing the Hobbit as well 🙂

    Cheers from Melbourne, Australia

    Like

  5. Hello! Congrats on your beautiful new home! My fiance and I are in the beginning stages of building our own tiny house and we are wondering if/how you registered your tiny house with the DMV in order to legally drive it on the road. Thanks!
    Mike & Jen

    Like

    1. Hi Jen!
      Yes our trailer is registered with the DMV as a permanent loaded trailer. We then also had to purchase a temporary travel permit that allowed us to drive it down the highway (we will have to purchase a travel permit again if we want to move it- but its only $10) If you are planning to tow your house often I would suggest registering it as an RV.

      Like

  6. Hi your house looks amazing, it’s exactly the design I am looking for, just wondering if you are willing to share or sell your plan /measurements? Thanks

    Like

  7. Hi,

    I saw your tiny house on pinterest. My wife and I are building one right now too. I am wondering where you found your couch?

    Thanks

    Like

  8. Beautiful home!! I’m starting to plan my own tiny house adventure, and many of the features in my plans are similar to yours!
    I was wondering if you could tell me how much your costs ended up being? Also, how long is your trailer?
    Sorry if you have this info somewhere already!

    Like

    1. Hi Casey,
      Our house is 24′ long. Cost will range quite a bit depending on how much material you can salvage or purchase at discounted rates and of course how much time and knowledge you have to invest in the project,and do the work yourself. Our home was right around 20k, but we put in many extra hours of work simply getting material that we had salvaged suitable to use. Good luck with your build!

      Like

  9. Please update us on how real life is going in the beautiful house. One always sees these gorgeous designs but I wonder how it works out for the couples — hard on the relationship? Are the savings as satisfying as you’d planned? How long do you project this being a viable lifestyle? Thanks so much for sharing your gorgeous creation.

    Like

    1. Hi Annette,
      Yes of course! We love our house! We have now been living in it full time for over six months and plan to live in it until we decide to have kids. If we did not want to grow our family, I would say we could live in our tiny house indefinitely. It is incredibly livable. Both my husband and I spend a lot of time outdoors year around so maybe that keeps any close quarters issues at bay? I don’t know 🙂 We think building the tiny house was a smart decision for us. Upkeep time is minimal, financially we were able to use our saved money to purchase property and the simplicity of a small home is really great.

      Like

      1. Thanks Hannah – good to hear your choice is validated. Best wishes ahead — and congratulations on this beautiful design. It’s truly wonderful.

        Like

  10. Hi Hannah,
    A friend let us know about your guys’ blog a while ago & we love it! We started our own tiny house journey 5 months ago and I was wondering if I could ask a few questions! We are buttoning up the exterior part of our house and getting ready to do the inside(which in my opinion is the fun part). I’m on the hunt for appliances and all that jazz, but I was just wondering a few thing!

    What kind of oven/stove did you go with?(where did you get it?)
    Have you been happy with your wood heat?

    I would love to chat a little(maybe even over coffee if you’re in central Oregon).

    Thanks!

    Tandy

    Like

Leave a Reply

